Awards & Competitions

Rineke Dijkstra Wins $110,540 Hasselblad Award for 2017

March 9, 2017

Rineke Dijkstra

Dutch portrait photographer Rineke Dijkstra has been named the 2017 Hasselblad Award Winner and will be awarded 1 million Swedish Krona (about $110,540 USD), the Hasselblad Foundation announced today.

In a prepared statement, the foundation says Dijkstra’s large-scale portraits and video studies “recall the visual acuity of seventeenth-century Dutch portraiture, offering intimate portrayals of her sitters whilst also suggesting the situated aspects of their being.”

Duncan Forbes, chair of the jury for the Hasselblad award, states, “At a moment when the portrait image dissipates itself in an economy of narcissism and fractal celebrity, Rineke Dijkstra reminds us of the photographic portrait’s public potential.”

The jurors for this year’s Hasselblad Award winner were Duncan Forbes of the Institute for Modern and Contemporary Culture, University of Westminster, London; Jennifer Blessing of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York; Simon Njami, a curator and writer based in Paris; Esther Ruelfs of the Museum für Kunst und Gewerbe Hamburg; and Mark Sealy of Autograph ABP in London.

The Hasselblad Award is given annually to honor outstanding achievement in photography. Previous recipients have included Stan Douglas, Paul Graham, Joan Fontcuberta, Robert Adams, Nan Goldin, Cindy Sherman and Robert Frank.

Related Articles
Rineke Dijkstra: Seeing is Believing
Stan Douglas Wins $118,000 Hasselblad Award for 2016
Joan Fontcuberta Wins $143,000 Hasselblad Prize
Paul Graham Wins $150K Hasselblad Award